S6Plus Ethernet not connecting on new laptop

stevieturbo
Posts: 983
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 2:04 pm

Re: S6Plus Ethernet not connecting on new laptop

Post by stevieturbo »

What brainbox ?

Just connect and go.

Switch is only needed for multiple items
rac
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2018 5:06 am

Re: S6Plus Ethernet not connecting on new laptop

Post by rac »

Thought so. Had to change the router configuration to AP mode to make it work. All good.
stevieturbo
Posts: 983
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 2:04 pm

Re: S6Plus Ethernet not connecting on new laptop

Post by stevieturbo »

Yep, there are some other ones that you can select AP via a switch on the router, or others that just work straight off anyway. All good though
johnfelstead
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2014 12:23 am

Re: S6Plus Ethernet not connecting on new laptop

Post by johnfelstead »

How are you powering the router? It looks like it needs a 5V power input into the USB port.

IS this OK for live streaming data to the laptop using SData on a normal S6?
stevieturbo
Posts: 983
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 2:04 pm

Re: S6Plus Ethernet not connecting on new laptop

Post by stevieturbo »

johnfelstead wrote: Sat Nov 28, 2020 8:56 pm How are you powering the router? It looks like it needs a 5V power input into the USB port.

IS this OK for live streaming data to the laptop using SData on a normal S6?
Plenty of little 12v to micro USB adapters on Amazon or ebay.

And yes, I have streamed data via WiFi

If using the adapter though....it's nice for it to have a permanent power supply, otherwise the router takes maybe 20-30s on power up to start doing its WiFi thingy. Which can be annoying.
If you leave it on all the time, you're always ready for an instant connection to the ecu. Albeit with the only downside of a power drain.
johnfelstead
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2014 12:23 am

Re: S6Plus Ethernet not connecting on new laptop

Post by johnfelstead »

Thanks Stevie.
Post Reply