996 turbo fuel map??

Nitrorocket
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2020 8:30 pm

996 turbo fuel map??

Post by Nitrorocket »

I’m new to the Syvecs, I need to get a highly modded 996 turbo pnp running enough to take around the block, work out any issues, and have then have it remote tuned.

Anyway, The car only runs and starts if I reduce the global multiplier down to .7, As the car warms up it runs worse and worse. If I give it any throttle once it starts warning up it wants to die.

On the software I’m not sure what table to adjust for the fuel mapping. It’s laid out nothing like the EFI live I am used to tuning with.
stevieturbo
Posts: 982
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 2:04 pm

Re: 996 turbo fuel map??

Post by stevieturbo »

Just change the main fuel table

Run-mode fueling, Base Injection Time ( x )...where x is whatever fuel table 1-4 you're set to be using.

There may also be coolant temp related corrections that may need adjusted...and these are under corrections in run-mode fueling.

But I'd try and play with the main table first to get it running and warmed up and get things stable when warm, before worrying too much about the corrections when cold. Even if there is a little paradox there.
Nitrorocket
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2020 8:30 pm

Re: 996 turbo fuel map??

Post by Nitrorocket »

Here is my file, the fuel tables are blank.
Attachments
new flash today.SC
(571.13 KiB) Downloaded 149 times
stevieturbo
Posts: 982
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 2:04 pm

Re: 996 turbo fuel map??

Post by stevieturbo »

you must be running TPS vs RPM with MAP compensation for fueling.

So your main fuel table seems to be "Secondary Load Injection Time", backed up by "Simple Manifold Pressure Multiplier"

That said, in Engine Fundamentals, Primary load is set to MAP. Although that's maybe to make ignition easier as it appears to be regular MAP vs RPM

I presume the car must have individual throttles ?
Nitrorocket
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2020 8:30 pm

Re: 996 turbo fuel map??

Post by Nitrorocket »

This is a standard layout Porsche 996 turbo engine. Currently is the original PNP tune that Syvecs gives with the 996TT lug n play kit. There is only one throttle body, one injector per cylinder. We do not have a MAF on it, tried running and scaling a 3.5 bar map in place of the stock 2.5 bar but it ran terrible. All I have been able to figure out is how to reduce the global fuel multiplier waaaaay down from factory setting of 1 to .3 or so to get it to run halfway decent.

Engine is mafless with ID2000 injectors and 52 psi fuel pressure.
stevieturbo
Posts: 982
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 2:04 pm

Re: 996 turbo fuel map??

Post by stevieturbo »

If you've scaled the map sensor correctly...it should have no impact on how it runs at all. Easy to check it's scaled/reading correctly with a Mityvac ( vac and pressure )

Although clearly the ID2000 injectors will have a massive impact on how a stock base map will run.

Syvecs would not use the MAF anyway ( or not that I'm aware of )

On the injector side of things alone, a massive reduction in fueling would be needed over stock anyway. Presumably factory injectors would be less than 1000cc....so a global of lower than 0.5 would be quite reasonable given you've more than doubled injector size ( and presumably changed the injector opening times too ? )

Maybe try emailing them for a base map, just in case there is something odd with yours ?

Has it ever ran correctly on this vehicle, in any configuration ? Does it go into 720sync when it will start/run ?
RICE RACING
Posts: 277
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 1:08 am

Re: 996 turbo fuel map??

Post by RICE RACING »

Nitrorocket wrote: Wed Mar 11, 2020 4:53 pm then have it remote tuned.
The *remote* tuna should sort this out for you, and your dealer you bought the system from should be capable as well.

p.s. If you don't get a suitable outcome you can contact me and I will see if we can fit you in to get it working correctly.
http://www.riceracing.com.au
Real turbo road cars fast > reliable > durable
Water Injection Specialist
RICE RACING
Posts: 277
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 1:08 am

Re: 996 turbo fuel map??

Post by RICE RACING »

http://www.syvecs.co.uk/forum/viewtopic ... f&start=60

Some reading here on setting it up, well the way I do it anyway ;)
http://www.riceracing.com.au
Real turbo road cars fast > reliable > durable
Water Injection Specialist
Nitrorocket
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2020 8:30 pm

Re: 996 turbo fuel map??

Post by Nitrorocket »

Thanks for all the help and input guys! This week has been very busy so I haven’t had a chance to play with the car much. Next week I’m gonna start working on it again. The remote tuner will not turn the car until I make sure all the bugs are worked out. Don’t blame them!!
stevieturbo
Posts: 982
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 2:04 pm

Re: 996 turbo fuel map??

Post by stevieturbo »

Nitrorocket wrote: Thu Mar 19, 2020 2:14 pm Thanks for all the help and input guys! This week has been very busy so I haven’t had a chance to play with the car much. Next week I’m gonna start working on it again. The remote tuner will not turn the car until I make sure all the bugs are worked out. Don’t blame them!!
But the remote tuner should also be able to assist with the current queries ? They are familiar with Syvecs ok ?

Can they not assist to help get the car to them ?
Post Reply