Any possibility of Real Dash support?

matt-c
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2016 2:54 pm

Any possibility of Real Dash support?

Post by matt-c »

As above, many other ECU's work with Real Dash, is it something that can happen?

Trickster
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 6:09 pm

Re: Any possibility of Real Dash support?

Post by Trickster »

Id like to see this too, it would be nice if it worked through the pc copnnection as i run an incar pc and running an actual dash off it would be ideal

Graeme
MR2 Turbo 5sgte 750hp 527ft/lb Syvecs S6

secure
Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 6:38 am

Re: Any possibility of Real Dash support?

Post by secure »

I have already contacted Syvecs about Realdash but they don't seem to bother.
but
I have succeded to stream syvecs RPM data to Realdash through Seedstudio canbus.
It was 1-2 years ago and I didnt find time to complete it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vxVyn9ecpmA

matt-c
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2016 2:54 pm

Re: Any possibility of Real Dash support?

Post by matt-c »

That’s interesting secure.

I actually had one of those CANbus interfaces on order yesterday but then was unsure again, mostly as i was unsure if the android usb serial interface would operate at 1mbit.

Is it a lot of work to add the other parameters?

Thinking of a team effort on this.

I’m also wondering if it’s possible to wire a Bluetooth obd reader to the ecu and access this way. Apparently this has been done to enable Haltech ecu to work with realdash and that ecu also uses a 1m bit custom can or be configured differently.

It would be awesome to have real dash working on android Headunit.

I can’t install syvecs official bt module as I’m
Out of I/o on my ecu (S6GP).
Last edited by matt-c on Thu Jul 11, 2019 9:33 am, edited 1 time in total.

TimH
JT Innovations
Posts: 627
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 2:51 pm

Re: Any possibility of Real Dash support?

Post by TimH »

matt-c wrote:
Thu Jul 11, 2019 9:03 am
I’m also wondering if it’s possible to wire a Bluetooth obd reader to the ecu
No OBD-II on Syvecs as far as I know.
matt-c wrote:
Thu Jul 11, 2019 9:03 am
I can’t install syvecs official bt module as I’m out of I/o on my ecu (S6GP).
I/O only needed for CAL switching - the telemetry data is via RS232.

matt-c
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2016 2:54 pm

Re: Any possibility of Real Dash support?

Post by matt-c »

Thanks Tim.

Ryan did previously confirm to me that I'm unable to install BT module, although indeed i don't need to be able to change cal via it, as of course i have the Toucan :D

I could possibly go Mini Expansion Unit + Syvecs Bluetooth Module + Official Android app but the cost is prohibitive for casual use.

TimH
JT Innovations
Posts: 627
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 2:51 pm

Re: Any possibility of Real Dash support?

Post by TimH »

Out of interest, not being experienced with fancy head units, do they accept an HDMI input these days?

matt-c
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2016 2:54 pm

Re: Any possibility of Real Dash support?

Post by matt-c »

The android ones typically not, so you are left with HDMI to composite converters and a somewhat fuzzy display.

There are some pioneer units with HDMI in, infact my old F960BT from 2014 had this, but the display resolution was low.

Most android HU are 1024x600 , the latest ones though are 720p IIRC.

My other project is Scal on an Intel compute stick, running into the android HU via composite for now.

secure
Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 6:38 am

Re: Any possibility of Real Dash support?

Post by secure »

I am not a coder. Just an arduino guy doing hobby level stuff.
It would be very easy for a software developer to do the rest of the work but I am not gonna publicate the code without auhorization of Syvecs because they may have their own policy on that. I wish they would work with Realdash so it would be alternative for us.


By the way I am running x86 based car computer.

TimH
JT Innovations
Posts: 627
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 2:51 pm

Re: Any possibility of Real Dash support?

Post by TimH »

CAN datastream is not a secret - the information is all there with the freely available SSuite.

Post Reply