"patch upload" without restart possible?

Any feature requests for the Syvecs Engine Control Systems
Post Reply
KulinPapa
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 8:21 pm
Location: Hungary, Central Europe
Contact:

"patch upload" without restart possible?

Post by KulinPapa » Thu Jan 12, 2017 11:16 pm

Hello. My suggestion is: if we change something in the config, than we need to program it into the ecu now, and than the ecu reboots, the engine stops. Could it be possible to program some minor changes into the ecu without the reboot? We are racing mostly in rallycross and autocross, and sometimes i need to modify some settings just seconds before the launch, and there is no chance to stop the car there. So rebooting and stop the engine is problematic in theese situations. Is it possible to make it without engine restart?

ciphermonk
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2016 8:47 pm

Re: "patch upload" without restart possible?

Post by ciphermonk » Sat Jan 14, 2017 7:35 pm

If you're talking about a non-blue item in the menu, technically the change you make is active as long as the ECU is powered up right? Writing the config is just a persistence mechanism. Without knowing in detail how the operating system that runs the Syvecs works I can only speculate that the reason they stop engine as part of writing changes is probably a safety thing.

Probably not what you'll want to hear but couldn't you perhaps get all your changes more than a few seconds before the rally stage begins? Again even if there has to be some last second change, there's nothing that says the driver couldn't drive off with the changes non-persisted. It won't negatively impact the way the powertrain performs. Just make sure they don't power the car down fully at the end of the stage/run before you're able to commit the last minute change.

stevieturbo
Posts: 838
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 2:04 pm

Re: "patch upload" without restart possible?

Post by stevieturbo » Sat Jan 14, 2017 8:37 pm

KulinPapa wrote:Hello. My suggestion is: if we change something in the config, than we need to program it into the ecu now, and than the ecu reboots, the engine stops. Could it be possible to program some minor changes into the ecu without the reboot? We are racing mostly in rallycross and autocross, and sometimes i need to modify some settings just seconds before the launch, and there is no chance to stop the car there. So rebooting and stop the engine is problematic in theese situations. Is it possible to make it without engine restart?
Exactly what items are you changing ?

As said, most items will change without the need to D/P. It is only the blue items that must D/P and restart before they take effect. But yes in order to make changes permanent you need to D/P.


Although are you talking about making changes and leaving the laptop live, or making changes and removing the laptop. Or are you wireless etc ?

And if you're saying seconds before a start....that implies you're changing ecu settings on a live starting line ??

Cant say I've ever made tuning changes...not hit D/P...and then unplugged the laptop though. Not actually sure what happens to any green changes made in that scenario.

pat
Syvecs Staff - Cleaner
Posts: 354
Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 9:23 am
Location: Out there... somewhere
Contact:

Re: "patch upload" without restart possible?

Post by pat » Mon Jan 16, 2017 9:23 pm

Gents,

the live changes will persist until powered off. Unplugging the laptop is fine. Just make sure you save a copy on the lappy in case the car is powered off for some reason, then you have a copy and can flash it later.

Blue items are *generally* not things you would adjust on a running engine. You don't change the number of cylinders or firing order, for example. Some things such as axes you might think could be done live but on the flip side of that, they tend to be things that need to be set once.... eg manifold pressure breakpoints might be set at the same time as setting up the MAP sensor. There will of course be occasions that you do need to change these whilst mapping but I cannot think why you would do so as you are about to start a special stage!

It would be instructive to know what changes are needed at the start of the stage. There may be more than one way to approach that requirement!

Cheers,

Pat.

stevieturbo
Posts: 838
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 2:04 pm

Re: "patch upload" without restart possible?

Post by stevieturbo » Mon Jan 16, 2017 9:45 pm

TBH the only blue change I've found annoying....is wheel speed related items.

Not that they too need changed often, but if trying to calibrate these accurately whilst driving so they match GPS or whatever...having to D/P after every change whilst driving gets a little frustrating.

Cant think of any others off the top of my head.

KulinPapa
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 8:21 pm
Location: Hungary, Central Europe
Contact:

Re: "patch upload" without restart possible?

Post by KulinPapa » Tue Jan 17, 2017 1:54 am

Thanks Pat! I didin't knew that "green" settings changes are active after laptop disconnection, till ignition is on. We never change any "blue" settings immediately. That could be stupid. In rallycross/autocross the weather and the track conditions can change really fast sometimes, but we have the opportunity to change everything until the launch. For example, sometimes a heavy rain comes in seconds, or the racetrack staff spreads water onto the racetrack surface just before the launch, and mostly we need to modify something in the launch control(for example: launch base rpm against launch hold timer table), or something else. And i thought, it could be great if small changes could be saved permanently without engine restart in theese situations. I know that we have several oppurtunities to change maps with different cal switch positions. It was just an idea...

Wez
Santa's Little Helper
Posts: 265
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 2:19 pm
Location: London

Re: "patch upload" without restart possible?

Post by Wez » Tue Jan 17, 2017 11:05 am

KulinPapa wrote:I know that we have several oppurtunities to change maps with different cal switch positions. It was just an idea...
Any reason you cant have this on a Cal switch?
96 MKIV Supra, S6GP, 591bhp & 523ft/lbs

stevieturbo
Posts: 838
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 2:04 pm

Re: "patch upload" without restart possible?

Post by stevieturbo » Tue Jan 17, 2017 6:48 pm

Wez wrote:
KulinPapa wrote:I know that we have several oppurtunities to change maps with different cal switch positions. It was just an idea...
Any reason you cant have this on a Cal switch?
You can only make basic adjustments to launch etc via Cal.

AFAIK you cannot adjust the actual base ramp rate for example. It might be nice if instead of adjustments of a base ramp up/down by xxxxrpm or xxxkpa boost...
That each Launch Cal setting could have it's own dedicated ramp rate and boost climb rate instead. It would give a lot more flexibility to the driver.

That said I did speak to Ryan on Friday about similar for boost control and he said it is now doable with the latest firmware and custom settings. So perhaps this is something that can maybe be pulled across to launch too ?

I havent used the latest firmware yet to comment.

TimH
JT Innovations
Posts: 605
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 2:51 pm

Re: "patch upload" without restart possible?

Post by TimH » Tue Jan 17, 2017 8:36 pm

Latest firmware is pretty flexible with custom sensors etc.

And on an S8/F88 CAN generic receive opens up all sorts of possibilities for Toucan (sorry for the plug!) - if there's a list of things it would be useful to add I'm happy to look at it (yes, Stevie..I know the other things you'd like already lol).

And please please please, Syvecs/Life Racing - port the generic CAN receive down to the S6!!!

Post Reply